Contact UsLinks
Home >
Awards > Haas / Hansen
Tools :
Near East South Asia
About NESAConferences and InstitutesAwardsProjects and ResourcesGalleriesJoinMembership DirectoryNesa Board LoginWider Login
NESA news magazine

Stanley Haas / Luke Hansen Student Award

Sponsored by GBG/TieCare International


In the spirit of Dr Stanley Haas, the late executive director of NESA, and of Luke Hansen, a remarkable student who died in an accident, this award - sponsored by GBG/TieCare International - recognizes middle school students (grades 6-8) at NESA member schools who model the character traits we value most in our students: consistency, persistence, a willingness to take risks, acceptance of other cultures/points of view and a genuine interest in and commitment to the welfare of others. The award is not meant to recognize academic, athletic or artistic talent or achievement, though nominees may well excel in one or more of these areas.

Three awards of $500 are made to three finalists; the first-place winner is invited to attend NESA's Spring Educators Conference, accompanied by an adult of his/her choice, with all expenses paid by NESA. 

How to apply: click here to download the application (Middle School students at all NESA Member schools are eligible to apply)
Deadline: December 1 annually

Each school may submit only three applications. Vetting should be done by the school administration if more than three students want to apply. 


Congratulations to the 2015-2016 winners of the Haas/Hansen Student Award!
  • Olivia Efird - American International School, Riyadh
  • Anthony L. Wong - American Community School, Amman
  • Valeria Andrea Gutierrez - American School, Doha


The Haas/Hansen Award Winner at the 2016 Spring Educators Conference

l-r: Marcus Hallberg, Olivia Efird, Brian Efird

l-r: Brian Efird, Olivia Efird

Olivia giving a speech at the SEC16 Gala


2014-2015 Winners

  • Abhi B. Sharma, American School, Doha (click here to read Abhi's essay)
  • Mariam Sabry, American International School, Kuwait
  • Seo Young Park, American International School, Chennai


Click here for a list of all winners since 1996.


©2010 Near East South Asia Council of Overseas Schools  :  Site Map
email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite