Near East South Asia - Council of Overseas Schools

Utilities Container

Off-Canvas Container

Awards and Scholarships

NESA Member School students are eligible to participate in NESA scholarships and awards.

Information regarding the award application process is sent yearly directly to each NESA Member School's designated Wider Circle Representative. Only submissions made via official NESA channels are considered.


Award Sponsored by TieCare International

In the spirit of Dr. Stanley Haas, the late executive director of NESA, and of Luke Hansen, a remarkable student who died in an accident, this award recognizes middle school students (grades 6-8) at NESA member schools who model the character traits we value most in our students: consistency, persistence, a willingness to take risks, acceptance of other cultures/points of view and a genuine interest in and commitment to the welfare of others. The award is not meant to recognize academic, athletic or artistic talent or achievement, though nominees may well excel in one or more of these areas.

Cash awards of $1,000 each will be made to up to four finalists, chosen by a selection committee appointed by the NESA Board of Trustees.



Margaret Sanders, who passed away in June 2009, was a longtime friend of American/international education through her association with Walsworth Publishing Company. She established a scholarship fund, the Margaret Sanders Foundation, to help graduates of our schools attend college.

Several scholarships are awarded each spring to graduating seniors at international schools who demonstrate persistence, motivation, resourcefulness, and acceptance of other cultures and points of view.

Factors considered in the selection process include academic achievement, financial needs, and higher education and vocational aspirations. Manifestation of desire to contribute to, or directly address, community and societal needs and problems will be considered in the selection process. The number and amount of awards are determined year-to-year.

Each regional association (ie, NESA, AISA, EARCOS, ECIS, etc) chooses one candidate for consideration by the Margaret Sanders Foundation. Each NESA member school may nominate one candidate.