Honoring our NESA Region Students: Haas/Hansen Award and Margaret Sanders Scholarship Recipients
Honoring our NESA Region Students: Haas/Hansen Award and Margaret Sanders Scholarship Recipients

NESA and TieCare International are proud to announce the recipients of the
2018-2019 Stanley Haas/Luke Hansen Student Award!


American School of Doha, Qatar

American School of Doha, Qatar

ACS American Community Schools of Athens, Greece

Haas Hansen Winners

LEFT: The Haas/Hansen recipient from ACS Athens: Olianna Dimitropoulou, with Dr. Stefanos Gialamas, President, and Dr. Peggy Pelonis, Dean of Academic and Student Affairs.
RIGHT: The Haas/Hansen recipients from
AS Doha: Alysha Al-Aghakhani and Rohma Athar, with Robert Gohr, Middle School Principal.

Applications were received from an outstanding pool of candidates from the NESA region. After much deliberation, the NESA Selection Committee chose to recognize three students who embody the spirit of helping others that the Stanley Haas/Luke Hansen Student Award has come to represent. Each of these students will be awarded a grant of $1,000.

Thank you to TieCare International for their continuing support of the Stanley Haas/Luke Hansen Student Award, and to the NESA Selection Committee for its work.

NESA is grateful to be able to play a part in recognizing exceptional students who show consistency, persistence, a willingness to take risks, acceptance of other cultures, and above all a genuine interest in and commitment to the welfare of others. We look forward to receiving next year's applications!

Congratulations to the winners!

The Near East South Asia Council of Overseas Schools (NESA) manages the application process and annual funds disbursement for the Stanley Haas/Luke Hansen Student Award in partnership with TieCare International, and in accordance with all requirements as outlined in the application. The Haas/Hansen itself is fiscally supported by TieCare, with the number and size of annual scholarships determined by TieCare.

We are delighted to congratulate the NESA region winner of the 2018 Margaret Sanders Scholarship Award

The Overseas School of Colombo, Sri Lanka

Margaret Sanders Winner

All of us at the NESA Center and in the NESA region commend her for her many accomplishments.

Pabasha would like to devote her time to pursuing her interests in the field of Biology as well as lin guistics. Her goal is to educate others and help the less privileged. Pabasha is dedicated to the OSC's service club, Girls for Girls, and works with the Emerge Lanka Foundation and the Salvation Army. Academically, she received the 'Top in Sri Lanka' Award for her outstanding GCSE scores.

The four students will each receive a $4000 scholarship for their 2019-2020 year of University.

The Margaret Sanders Scholarship Fund is managed by AAIE in partnership with the Gulf Coast Community Foundation.